Yes. When you freeze the Loupe (by pressing Command-D), you get a snapshot of whatever is currently displayed.
Locking the Loupe (Command-L) is another method that continues to update the display, but ignores any further mouse movements. Locking is handy if you are making changes to a design and want to see an update without repositioning the mouse.
We've tried to anticipate most questions you might have. However, if you can't find the answer you're looking for here, send us your query and we'll answer it personally.